Logo for eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality.

eThekwini Municipality is located on the east coast of South Africa, Province of KwaZuluNatal. The Municipality spans an area of approx. 2555km2 and is home to 2200 plant species, 520 birds, 37 amphibians, 80 terrestrial mammals and 25 invertebrate endemic to KZN. It contains 3 of South Africa’s 9 terrestrial biomes- Savanna, forest, and Indian Ocean Coastal belt and 11 of South Africa’s recognised vegetation types. The coastline extends for

South Africa

Head of Government

Photograph of Mayor of eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality. Zandile Gumede

Mayor of eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality

Zandile Gumede

Durban prioritises environmental issues and the building of a resilient city. It takes a team of dedicated officials who are passionate to drive environmental best practice initiatives through to reality. We are proud to share lessons from our nature- and green-economy based programmes with other cities.

I. Analyze1.Commit & Mobilize1. & Assess3.Set Baseline4.Develop Strategy5.Detail & Finance Projects6.Implement & Monitor7.Integrate & Collaborate8.Review & Upscale9.Advocate & InspireII. ActIII. Accelerate

Nature Pathway


    Local government details
    Already have an account? Login
    Designated contact person
    BackHead of local government
    Already have an account? Login